Impromptu Sheet Music

Stacks Image 1771
Select Geographic Location for Price:
Impromptu - Songbook

After much demand, we have finally produced a collection of complete, accurate arrangements of all ten pieces from Neil's recording,
Impromptu - Solo Piano.

These are note-for-note transcriptions of what Neil performed when recording this collection of solo piano pieces. Every note is here.

Currently, we only have physical copies of the book available for purchase.
Contact Neil to order individual PDFs.


1. Toccata (sample)
2. First Steps
3. Stars
4. Providence (sample)
5. Prayer for New Wind
6. Water of Life
7. Looking Back (sample)
8. Jig
9. Catherine (sample)
10. Dawn (sample)
[Neil] is an exceptionally accomplished pianist, so this songbook is somewhat more advanced than many of the books in the so-called New Age genre. All ten pieces are very playable, and some are fairly easy, but some of the rhythms are tricky and a couple of pieces are in difficult key signatures. Early advanced pianists should be able to handle most of the pieces without too much trouble, and should be able to master the more challenging pieces with a little extra time and concentration. 

The book is spiral-bound (yea!!!), printed on a sturdy paper stock, and easy to read. The print is very clean and clear, and the spacing is excellent. Directions for dynamics and tempi are also very clear. The pieces I found to be the easiest were “First Steps,” “Providence,” “Prayer For New Wind,” “Looking Back,” “Jig,” and “Catherine.” I enjoyed playing the whole book and recommend it to pianists of a more advanced playing level. It is available from neilpatton.net.

Kathy Parsons (Mainly Piano.com)